MAIN GUN PORTS COMPLETE

I’ve never cut gun ports before. I decided to finish each with a 1mm x 4mm frame (not as in kit instructions). I marked the exact size of each gun port on self-adhesive paper, then placed on the hull. I made a cut with a craft knife around the line of each gun port to prevent the wood tearing when filing out. I used small diamond files to file out the ports. Fitting the frames was fiddly, and I lost a few frame parts inside the hull. A lot of file dust ends up inside the hull, so I’ve invested in a miniature vacuum cleaner attachment kit to help extract dust from the gun ports. These fit a standard vacuum cleaner, and it works well. This all takes time, and each gun port has probably taken me an hour to complete, but I’m happy with the results so far.

Leave a comment